Baby Naming – ugh.

And so it begins. Well, actually, it began about 0.09 seconds after the two, bright blue lines showed up on a certain test in late February: The Baby Naming Dilemma. I am 19.8 weeks pregnant and don’t have a clue what we’ll call this child when we meet him/her in, what I’m sure will be, a short 20 weeks.

Wait, scratch that. I know exactly what we’ll be calling Baby if she’s a she. However, if Baby is a he, we’re screwed – at least as far as I’m concerned. Nick doesn’t seem to be too concerned. In fact, every time I send an email/text or start a conversation with “hey honey, if the baby’s a boy, what do you think about —– ?”, Nick likes to remind me that we weren’t this hung up on William’s name and that we weren’t even that sure of William’s name when I was pregnant. Um, maybe he wasn’t, but I certainly was! I knew, even before I met Nick, that I wanted a son named William with the nickname Will. I just knew. I always loved Jack and John too, so we went with John as his middle name to honor my maternal grandfather, who is super special to me, and it’s also Nick’s middle name, so it was a great fit.

But this time, it’s different. Since we still have the girl’s name we had if Will had been a girl, we’re set there. It’s the boy thing that I’m seriously struggling with. And then I was skimming over a blog today regarding this same quandary that apparently is a world-wide (or maybe just us crazy Americans) issue for parents-to-be these days and came across this:  “There’s also a Caden in my 1 y.o.’s class. Very popular in our circle are Williams, George, and Henry. Several Ryans, too.” LITERALLY, every single one of those names mentioned – George, Henry (Harry), Ryan – are or were, at one time or another,  all on our list of possible names. And we already covered the “William” in that statement! Sigh.

I just have to paste in this email conversation Nick and I had the other day on the topic of boy names. It still makes me chuckle:

 On Tue, Jun 4, 2013 at 10:19 AM, Spillane, Megan wrote: How about Leo?? And I just saw the name Penn, which I thought would be cute, but then remembered we already have a “William” and then our kids would be “William” and “Penn” like “William Penn” as in, William Penn – the founder of Pennsylvania and The William Penn Inn, where we got married, Bahahahahahahaha! 

 On Tue, Jun 4, 2013 at 11:40 AM, Nick Spillane wrote: William Penn!! And the next one you will want to call Teller! Leo’s not bad. Couldn’t image calling our son Leo though! Maybe for the wild name we go the Wilmo route and call him Cash!!! Seriously – Cash! Ow my!

So? What to do? Maybe we will just call Baby No. 2 “William II” or perhaps, “John William”… Well, I do have 20 more weeks, right?

Leave a Reply

