A herniated what??

Over the holiday weekend, I noticed that my belly looked funny – it didn’t hurt or anything – but it definitely didn’t look ‘normal’ to me. Actually, a few months ago {I can’t even remember if it was before I knew I was expecting again or not…} I noticed my belly button was different than it used to be – as in an ‘outtie’ and no longer an ‘innie’.  It also felt like it was disconnected from where it should be. I kind of shrugged it off thinking it was just because it was my second pregnancy and all kinds of funky things happen to your body once you’ve carried a human for the better part of a year. I also felt, and looked like, I was carrying really high for only being 17 weeks along. When I bent backwards {don’t ask why, I don’t even know why}, this thing protruded out of my abdomen just above my belly button. I wasn’t as freaked out as you would think I would be, but my poor husband and friends, who witnessed this in-person, were thoroughly skeeved.

The next day we were with another set of friends and after more circus-like acts of my protruding abdomen and a bunch of Google searches, they convinced me to call my OB. To my surprise, she was barely alarmed. She said it was an umbilical hernia {although I haven’t been officially diagnosed yet} and that “as long as I can push it back in and I’m not vomiting and it doesn’t hurt to touch it” then I am “fine”. And I should wear a pregnancy girdle or belt to help keep it in. FINE? This thing is gross! And besides, I have been spontaneously vomiting – much more so than when I was preggo with Sir William. As a matter of fact, Friday night (when this all first went down), I didn’t feel too well and randomly got violently sick at my mom’s house. After that, I was fine. Saturday, I felt awful. I pretty much was a bump on a log all day. My next OB appointment is next Thursday so you bet I’m going to be all crazy about this when I see that OB woman in-person!

Although in my recent Google research and speaking to a friend who has experienced this same thing – the doctors can probably just do surgery to push it back in {god, that sounds horrific} and stitch up and strengthen my abdominal wall when I have the c-section for baby #2.

I also think I’m going to get a second opinion. If this pregnancy goes anything like the last one did, I’m going to be gi-hugic in a few months and I don’t know how that wouldn’t interfere with my and baby’s well-being, so stay tuned.

In the meantime, here’s a picture of a normal-looking 4-months-pregnant person:

4 months normal preggoAnd here’s what my belly looks like – only when I bend slightly backwards. But still – already, it looks like I’m carrying this child in my boobs and it is pretty much impossible to pass off the “cute” pregnant belly anymore because of this thing…

hern_umbGross, I know =/

In other happy baby news: I feel lots of kicking going on which just is the best feeling in the whole world, well, that and the daily feeling of being embraced by my little prince as he wraps his arms around my neck, rests his head on my shoulder and gets comfy and into sleep-mode while I’m holding him every night before I put him down. He only recently started doing this, as before, he would just hang out on my chest and put his arms wherever. One day he reached up around my neck, figured it was more comfy (how could it not be?!) and around my neck they have stayed – I am absolutely in-love with his bedtime routine all over again. I’ve also been focusing really hard on every second that we are in that state of mind and state physically since things will definitely be different when the new baby arrives. I have a feeling Daddy will be taking over more of the Bubbs’ bedtimes than usual because I will be fully engulfed in nursing little one every few hours.

I have to say, that as crazy as Will can make me during the day, in the middle of the night {Oh, I have to post about our recent middle-of-the-night-antics real soon too! See? I do have a ton to write about!!} or just in general, it all melts away as I hold him tight, whisper {and sometimes sing) to him how much Mommy, Daddy, Grammy, Nana, Granddad and everyone else loves him and breathe in the sweet, just washed smell of his still baby-like scent – I literally go from being a grown, normal functioning woman to just a glob of mushiness and love for this little being that I took part in creating. It’s one of my most favorite things in the world.

Here’s the Bubbs after a much-needed nap a few weeks ago. He was still relying on that Ninny he’s got hanging out of his mouth {like I said earlier, another post-worthy topic!} and this was also before his long-overdue 2nd official haircut too. God, the hair on that kid!

just woke up

Leave a Reply

