Things are changing

My face is twitching, my belly hurts and I just ate way more than my fair share of sweets – what is wrong with me? Oh that’s right, I’m pregnant! Yep, we got the slightly surprising news on a Thursday evening in February after I suffered all day with what would be my first day of 8 weeks of intense nausea. Right then, I knew. So to my trusty CVS store I headed for testing supplies.  The result was instantly this:

testsfinal2

This is the only time in my life when I can go a whole day with “weird” things happening to me or I actually do “weird” things and it doesn’t phase me. Pregnancy: a miracle of life and what women’s bodies are capable of, but also such an odd and peculiar experience when you get down to it.

Baby Spillane #2 is due on, ready for it…October 31st. Yes, that’s right, one day after Will’s 2nd birthday. Us Spillanes really love the month of October, and not only that, clearly the Halloween holiday! So, as of today, I’m 12 weeks and 6 days pregnant – hallelujah for the 2nd trimester!

The past 8 weeks have been pretty tough and gross. I found out I was pregnant because the nausea set in immediately and it came on extremely strong – daily vomiting and gagging were the norm. Generally feeling like death was an everyday thing for the first three weeks. It was horrible. Around week 10, things started to ease up a bit, but I would randomly have spells of total nausea and feeling like I could be sick at any moment at the slightest smell (or thought!) that didn’t sit well with me. Today, I’m feeling much better, but I do have a small sense of lingering nausea if I haven’t eaten anything substantial in more than an hour, if I’m dehydrated or if I think about feeling nauseous, so on that note, I’m changing the subject!

Here is Will proudly sporting his ‘Big Brother’ t-shirt a few weeks ago. He doesn’t quite get it yet, but I’m sure as my belly grows, it’ll start to make more sense to him.

big brother will

Oh yes, and this also means that the new job hunt is on hold… for about the next year. My goal was to be out of here by March, but clearly God had other plans for us – that’s OK, we’re happy with what he has in mind for our family!

 

Leave a Reply

